Basque Culinary World Prize Announces Top 10 Finalists

The second annual Basque Culinary World Prize has announced its top 10 finalists. The award recognizes work that aims to better society through the lens of food. The winner of the €100,000 award ($111,000 USD) will be announced July 17 in Mexico City.

Daniel Patterson and Roy Choi are nominated for their LocoL chain that's dedicated to reshaping the fast-food industry. José Andrés, David Hertz and Leonor Espinosa were nominated last year and are nominated this time around as well. This year's jury includes Dominique Crenn, Enrique Olvera, Gastón Acurio, Joan Roca, Michel Bras, Yoshihiro Narisawa and more.

Last year, María Fernanda Di Giacobbe from Venezuela won the inaugural prize for her work in creating career opportunities for women in the cacao industry. She will also serve as a judge in this year's contest.

Of the 110 chefs from 30 countries nominated, these are this year's top 10 finalists. Learn more about their work here.

  • Anthony Myint, United States
  • Dan Giusti: United States
  • Daniel Patterson and Roy Choi: United States
  • David Hertz: Brazil
  • Ebru Baybara Demir: Turkey
  • José Andrés: United States
  • Leonor Espinosa: Colombia
  • Melinda McRostie: Australia/Greece
  • Niko Romito: Italy
  • Ricardo Muñoz Zurita: Mexico