Tonight marks the beginning of Rosh Hashanah, which means you better bone up on your Jewish food terms if you expect to get your hands on that honey-dipped apple.
Most everyone has got a good handle on the term kosher, but what do you call everything else — “not kosher?” Wrong! For those in the know, all non-kosher food is referred to as treif. Originally the term (which derives from the Hebrew word for “torn”) was only applied to meat that was literally “torn in the field,” but in our more relaxed modern times treif can be used to describe any type of non-kosher fare. So celebrate the New Year by throwing around your impressive new vocab — even if no one else knows what you’re talking about.
Use today’s Word of the Day: Eggplant Rollatini Recipe