Halal is an Islamic word given to foods that are permitted in the Muslim culture. This practice calls for prayer and the practice of slaughtering animals as respectfully and humanely as possible. Only foods that are considered “clean” are acceptable in halal. Pigs, alcohol, blood, previously dead animals, birds of prey and carnivorous animals are haram, or forbidden, by Islamic law.

Use today’s Word of the Day: 5 Myths and Facts About Ramadan