A basket of eggs.
Why Eggs Were Once Forbidden During Lent

Traditionally, it was forbidden to eat meat and all animal products, including milk and eggs, during Lent. This was meant as a symbolic abstinence to represent Jesus' 40-day fast.

While many still do not eat meat, excluding seafood, during some or all of Lent, eggs and milk do not typically make the list of forbidden foods anymore.

Not being allowed to eat eggs during Lent also served a practical purpose. Hens would continue to lay throughout the Lenten season, and by Easter, eggs were abundant.

Eggs were even taken to churches on Holy Saturday to receive blessings. Eggs were an essential part of Easter for those who could not afford more expensive proteins.

Decorating eggs was a practice that could have come about because of how special eggs were considered during this important season.