Glass of whiskey with ice
The Expansive Difference Between Whiskey And Whisky, Explained

Some may know the distilled grain spirit with a caramel-brown hue as whiskey, while others may call it whisky. These two names actually indicate where the drinks come from.

"Whiskey" generally implies that the spirit was made and distilled in America or Ireland, plus a small number of producers in Mexico.

American whiskey categories are rye, bourbon, single malt, Tennessee, wheat, and corn whiskey. Irish whiskey is made primarily with barley and is typically distilled three times.

"Whisky" typically refers to spirits from Scotland, Japan, Canada, Australia, South Africa, and many European countries, as well as the bulk of producers in Mexico.

Scotch and Japanese whisky are made with malted barley and follow the same distillation process. Canadian uses more rye, while Indian whisky began as a molasses-derived spirit.

Other countries that produce whisky include Australia, France, Spain, Germany, England, and Taiwan. Each has its differentiations that all fall under the same category.