Week In Review

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Sean Brock Day, chef shoes, dessert history, cider
Oct 24, 2014 4:00 pm

Shoes, glorious shoes! This week's breakaway story is about the brand-new Vans designed specially for chefs rushing around on slippery surfaces while still maintaining the desire to look rad. If we could just get our hands on a couple of pairs (and with perseverance, we will), we'd send a pair to David Muñoz in Madrid, or Miami's rising Peruvian star, Diego Oka. Sean Brock probably already has a pair. Ready for this week's most popular stories? 

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Hot chicken, scallion fries, Dublin bars, espresso
Oct 17, 2014 4:00 pm

Let's just be honest here: only two stories this week matter. Hang on...we're hearing from the guys upstairs that all these stories matter, so let's make that the official statement while also letting you know that bun bo hue blows your average pho right out of the stockpot, and we have the skinny and/or fat on the latest food trend to blow up your diet: hot chicken, a Nashville staple all firebreathers must try at least once.

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Juice crawls, Santa Barbara, coffee liqueurs, ziti
Oct 10, 2014 4:00 pm

This week, we walked into a bar and got treated like royalty. That's because we know how to make friends (also, we jumped on this year's 50 best bars around the globe list the second it was announced). You can bet a few of those places know about our secret awesome craft coffee liqueurs and one of the greatest bourbon bromances of all time. Enjoy this week's most popular stories.

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Michelin stars, spiral tarts, kale facts, Hot Doug
Oct 3, 2014 4:00 pm

Pause and admire. Repeat. That's certainly a theme with this week's most popular stories, which may have added a whole new level to the term "food porn." A hypnotizing spiral vegetable tart and a crispy-bottomed cluster of oyster mushrooms are just two of the masterpieces you can create at home this weekend. Not a fan of the whole DIY thing? We've got you covered too.

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Fawaffles, country ham, Toronto, bacon bourbon pops
Sep 19, 2014 4:00 pm

Two important things about pig this week: 1. country ham is absolutely delicious and rivals the best European cured ham and 2. bacon goes in popsicles now, we can show you how. Vegetarian? You'll never make falafel without a waffle iron again — you know you've always wanted nooks and crannies for hummus. Apple desserts are happening, people, are you going to peel yours manually or automatically? Enjoy this week's most popular stories!

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Burritos, pretzel poutine, marijuana cooking, D.C.
Sep 12, 2014 4:00 pm

Pop a pot brownie for this week's top stories. Or maybe just that one story where Vogue food critic Jeffrey Steingarten proved to be a lightweight, then, somewhat predictably, provided too much detail at all the wrong parts of the experience. We lived vicariously through Alex Guarnaschelli's summer travels, prepared ourselves for fall restaurant openings and drank a lot of the incredible hot chocolate that's going to power us through the next 8 or so months. Also, poutine. Our most popular stories, right this way. 

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

Fall previews, football beer, fruit wine, Ed Lee
Sep 5, 2014 4:00 pm

Look ahead to Fall! It's the only way to keep from crying now that the hot weather's on its way out. Fall beers help, too, as does football, so we found a few great brews to ease ourselves in. As prime harvest time arrives, revisit the true meaning of farm to table from the chefs and farmers who know better than anyone, and while we're talking about vegetables, swap British comfort food for Indian comfort food. We'll tell you why. Enjoy this week's most popular stories!

Our 12 Most Popular Stories This Week

NYC, LA, Chicago and Philly fall previews, 99-packs
Aug 29, 2014 4:00 pm

This week is all about fall previews — where to eat, drink and stay and what to read while you're at it. Spoiler alert: you're going to want to go to Portugal. If you're as excited about fall beer as we are, you'll dig our comprehensive guide to seasonal releases, collaborations, festivals and more. If you're just excited about beer in general, there's a 99-pack you should try to hunt down. It's just more cost-effective, especially over a long, hot weekend. Enjoy this week's most popular stories. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Follow Food Republic

Vietnamese noodle soup, it’s what’s for breakfast
Britain stops rinsing raw chicken. We should, too.
Two liters of French 75? Yes please.
Stop everything and start deep-frying scallions
Irish capital is awash in Guinness and fiddle tunes
Breweries use modern packaging to simply make noise
ADVERTISEMENT
About Us | Advertise With Us | Contact Us | RSS | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
© 2013 Food Republic. All rights reserved.