2012 In Review

2012 In Review: Top 8 Illustrated Stories On Food Republic

The best of the year's art from our illustrators
Dec 31, 2012 10:02 am

Looking at photos of food gets boring after awhile, doesn't it? That's why we occasionally commission top-notch artists and illustrators to put a different spin on the food scene. We had some memorable illustrated series and infographics in 2012, and we've compiled the best of 'em here in one pretty-looking gallery. Happy New Year, and here's to more great art in 2013!

2012 In Review: 15 Best Quotes From Musicians Talking About Food

For musicians, talking about food is...appetizing
Dec 28, 2012 4:01 pm

In 2012, we had a big music/food crossover year, with a hit-and-miss new music and food fest (The Great GoogaMooga); a big FR field trip to the Live Music Capital of Austin, Texas; a cookbook release party for Zak Pelaccio with a psychedelic freakout performance by Woods. And, we talked to some of the best musical artists in the world about food. Here, we round up 15 of the most memorable musician interviews of 2012, featuring Lupe Fiasco, Boys Noize, John Darnielle, Sammy Hagar, Thee Oh Sees, Twin Shadow and more!

2012 In Review: The Year In Traveling Far To Eat Very Good Things

FR contributors weigh-in on the year in travel
Dec 28, 2012 2:02 pm

The Internet is in the midst of year-end list madness. There’s even a great blog that makes lists of lists. Let us prolong the season a bit here, where Food Republic editors and contributors weigh-in on the year in travel.

2012 In Review: Top 10 Test Kitchen Recipes

Beer can chicken is included. Nuff said.
Dec 28, 2012 12:01 pm

Little-known fact: I am not a chef. But I do like to cook. If you're like me: not a chef but still like to cook, Food Republic's Test Kitchen recipes are the way to go. The purpose of our Test Kitchen days is to come up with ideas for dishes we'd want to eat in the sincere hopes that you'll enjoy them too. Here are our 10 favorite Test Kitchen recipes of 2012, with the majestic Beer Can Chicken reigning over its loyal subjects.

2012 In Review: Our 25 Favorite Instagram Photos Of The Year

From cherry tomatoes to lobster pizza to temaki
Dec 28, 2012 11:01 am

Without a doubt, one of our favorite parts of the past year was Instagramming every delicious thing we saw. All of a sudden, it was a year later and we had 1300 photos up between three editors and several chefs who know a good Instagram opportunity when they see one. It was hard to narrow it down to just a handful — click through our top 25 Instagrams of the year. Our New Year's resolution? More Instagram.

2012 In Review: Top 20 Quotes Of The Year

Most memorable lines from chefs and cooking folk
Dec 28, 2012 10:01 am

A best-selling cookbook author admits that no qualifications are needed to write a best-selling cookbook. A former restaurant critic claims Sean Brock teaches heritage poultry ancient languages. What won't Anthony Bourdain sign? What is John Currence so pissed off about? We present to you, our favorite quotes of 2012.

2012 In Review: The Year In Chefs, Restaurants And Looking Ahead

FR contributors weigh-in on the year in dining out
Dec 27, 2012 2:01 pm

The Internet is in the midst of year-end list madness. There’s even a great blog that makes lists of lists. Let us prolong the season a bit here, where Food Republic contributors weigh-in on the year in chefs and restaurants.

2012 In Review: The Year In Cocktails, Bar Trends, New Booze And Looking Ahead

FR contributors weigh-in on spirited topics
Dec 20, 2012 4:01 pm

The Internet is in the midst of year-end list madness. There’s even a great blog that makes lists of lists. Let us prolong the season a bit when Food Republic contributors weigh-in on the year in booze and mixology.   

ADVERTISEMENT

Follow Food Republic

From standard supermarket grade to coveted Arahova
Attitude, attention to detail, easy on the garnish
A huge, melty double cheeseburger lives in Harlem
It's our wine contributor's #1 pet peeve
ADVERTISEMENT
About Us | Advertise With Us | Contact Us | RSS | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
© 2013 Food Republic. All rights reserved.